50+ years representing
only the injured

What is Florida personal injury protection insurance?

On Behalf of | Dec 30, 2020 | Motor Vehicle Accidents |

Everyone is responsible for keeping Florida a safe place to drive. Part of that shared responsibility is maintaining personal injury protection insurance.

The Florida legislature enacted this law to make the legal system more efficient when it comes to auto accidents. However, this insurance does not always cover the entirety of the losses in a crash.

Insurance basics

State law requires drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 of medical and disability coverage in their personal injury protection insurance policies. That is just the minimum to drive legally. Your policy must also contain a $5,000 death benefit.

As you might imagine, costs often pass this limit during serious accidents. However, PIP could significantly reduce your costs in some situations.

PIP and lawsuits

Collecting personal injury protection insurance would probably not prevent you from filing a lawsuit. However, insurance companies are not always entirely clear about what is happening with your claim.

For example, you might mistakenly sign a settlement from the other driver’s insurance, thinking it is your own PIP payout. Before you sign any documents, you probably want to ensure that you know exactly who is providing the money and what accepting the deal means for your future ability to collect compensation.

PIP time limit

Generally speaking, you have 14 days to seek medical attention after the accident. If you act during this time, it should be much easier to collect PIP insurance. It is always a good idea to seek prompt attention. Even minor car accidents often involve intense forces that could cause injury.

Should you collect PIP?

How you should approach your insurance depends on your situation. That policy is there to protect you from long, complicated legal processes, but it might not solve all of your problems.

FindLaw Network